big city
We are online 24/7.
Call us today!
858-812-5292
Skyriver IT logotype.
Main phone.

Does Your IT Partner Occupy the CIO Seat?

11/1/2021
|
13 mins read
written by
Dhoof Mohamed

With now more than 14 million daily users and 750,000 companies adopting the business communication platform, Slack has skyrocketed in popularity since it was founded in 2013. The platform has undoubtedly become essential for many organizations over the last year as workforces became more distributed. With its essential function in enabling communication and collaboration at many organizations, it’s likely most employees at a company will get an account. However, as with any platform of its kind, it’s important to know how to remove users as part of the offboarding process. Well, we’re here to break the sometimes awkward silence that can occur when it comes to offboarding, starting with how to handle deactivating Slack accounts. Companies have been relying on Electric to handle the offboarding process for years now, so we know a little something about how to keep it painless.

Deactivating a Member’s Slack Account

Members can leave a Slack Workspace at any time, but don’t rely on offboarding employees to leave on their own. Be proactive and deactivate their Slack account as soon as it’s appropriate.

Who Can Deactivate Slack Accounts?

It’s important to remember that your role in Slack will determine your deactivation permissions. The type of Slack plan your company has will also impact the permissions of who can deactivate a slack account.

For Free, Standard, or Plus plans:

  • Workspace Admins can deactivate members and guests
  • Workspace Owners can deactivate members, guests, and Workspace Admins.
  • Workspace Primary Owners can deactivate members, guests, Workspace Admins, and Workspace Owners.
  • No one can deactivate the Workspace Primary Owner. To deactivate this person, the Primary Owner must transfer ownership to someone else

Additionally for Enterprise Grid Plans, the following rules apply for Workspace-level permissions:

  1. Workspace Admins can deactivate members and guests
  2. Workspace Owners can deactivate members, guests, and Workspace Admins
It’s important to remember that your role in Slack will determine your deactivation permissions. The type of Slack plan your company has will also impact the permissions of who can deactivate a slack account.